Every Driver Must Buy Auto Insurance Wisconsin

By Allan Mallen

If you drive an automobile in the state of Wisconsin, remember that auto insurance Wisconsin is a legal necessity. You may be in a low risk or high risk group but it makes no difference, you must purchase it however expensive it is. If you can afford to have a car, you can afford to cover it with a policy in case of an accident.

Wisconsin has minimum requirement levels for each age group. There are also maximum amounts to be paid out for each incident such as $15,000 for property damage. The injury or death of one victim has an upper limit of $50,000 and $100,000 for the injury or death of more than one individual.

As of June 1, 2010, a driver pulled over by the police has to show proof of insurance if the officer asks for it. This is for automobile drivers. Truck drivers are exempt. If you drive without coverage, there are serious repercussions.

When you are stopped without coverage you can be fined up to $500. Even if covered, but do not have proof along with you to show, you will be fined $10. A fine of $5,000 applies to the individual who gives fraudulent information about automobile coverage. If you lose your driver license for any reason, you will be required to show proof of coverage before you can regain it. This is required by the Department of Motor Vehicles.

If you are considered a high risk driver, you will pay higher rates. The high risk driver may be considered as such due to driving a high performance car or drives considerable distances in a year, as a traveling salesperson. Other reasons can include a ticket for driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. A high number of speeding tickets can be another reason.

The most likely reason you are called high risk is due to having multiple accidents that the company had to pay for. Check for lower rates by going from company to company. One person may get better rates at one company or another. Therefore, it is good to check before choosing a company to insure you.

For the teen driver, auto insurance Wisconsin will certainly charge a higher premium for your policy. When included on your parents policy, they will be charged a higher premium. Men under twenty-five who are not married are statistically proven to be high risk since that age group has the highest percentage of accidents. Insurance premiums are commensurate to the amounts an insurance company has paid out in the past years to enable the companies to make a profit.

About the Author:

Grab The Post URL

HTML link code:
BB (forum) link code:

Leave a comment

  • Google+
  • 0Blogger
  • Facebook
  • Disqus

0 Response to "Every Driver Must Buy Auto Insurance Wisconsin"

Post a Comment

comments powered by Disqus